CN Pensioners Associations, Inc.


Our CN Pensioners Association has now completed our third year of scholarship awards in the amount of $1,000 to children , grand-children and great grand children of "contributing" members of the CNPA. Since our first offering in 2013-2014 was so successful, the National Directors voted to increase our scholarships progressively from 10 awards, to 20 awards, and this year 2015 to 25 awards of $1,000 each.

In addition to the CNPA National Council awards, Moncton Council has opted to fund 2 additional scholarships for great grand and grand children of sponsors who are contributing members of Moncton Council No. 1. A similar Bursary is funded by Manitoba council. In total, your association is awarding $28,000 in 2015 which is benefiting the pensioners community.

Our 2015 CN Pensioners Scholarship awards are now complete and the funds have been distributed to the winners. The most difficult job was selecting the better candidates among the very strong applications which were received.

This year there was a total of 104 applications received of which 4 were rejected because the sponsors were not "contributing" (paid up members of our association) Dues, are $1.00 per month, as you know and can easily be arranged by Payroll Deduction by contacting any executive member of your council or region.

All information required on our scholarship awards is contained and easily found on our web site:

Applications received in 2015

Applications by Region:

Total Applications: 104

Scholarship recipients in the same Regional order:

Region Student Sponsor
Atlantic Claire Richardson Marina Whelan
  Myryn Steeves Marjorie Wells
  Neal Lemoine John Ferguson
  Lynn Courteau Roger Hebert
  Samuel LeBlanc Leo Roach
Moncton Council Awards Mitchell Cassidy Russell Campbell
  Garrett Tingley Carol Nelson
Quebec Cassandra Guérette Charles-André Baillargeon
  Noémie Payette Robert Payette
  Lydia-Marie Frenette Juliette Voyer
  Jérémie Paré Raymond Bérubé
  Justine Frenette Juliette Voyer
Ontario Melanie Wong-King-Cheong Philippe Chong
  Alexander Rotondo James G Spencer
  Haley Gallant Robert Gallant
  Carson Craig Carmel Craig
  Alyssa Janes Paula Janes
Prairie Jessica Scott Hermina Konstantynowicz
  Hannah Keenes Douglas Keenes
  Leia Toppozini Kenneth Toppozini
  Amy Johnson Kris Jensen
  Cassandra Sullivan William Sullivan
Mountain Christine Frances Rose Dyck Gerald Russell
  Kelsey Allbee Dale Lloyd
  Jilian Handfield Alexander Bentt
  Maximillian Johnson Valerie Covey
  Kaylan Burns Karen Andrus

The Scholarship Committee would like to take this opportunity to thank CN Pensioners/survivors and their children/grand-children for their interest in this project. We thank all those applicants who took the time and effort to prepare their professional submissions.

The success of this project will be discussed thoroughly at our Annual General Meeting in Montreal this coming November with the possibility of offering it once again for the 2016-2017 scholastic year. Win or lose, we wish you all success in your future educational endeavours. If you were not successful this year please do not hesitate to apply again at a future date.

Thank you also goes out to the Scholarship Committee Members who performed the difficult task of evaluating the applications and ensuring that their decisions conformed to the strictest, non-prejudiced evaluating methods as follows:

Region Committee Member
Atlantic: Reg Hebert
  Myron Matheson
  Wanda Garland
  John Bailey
  Paul McGrath
  Peter Belanger
Quebec: Yves Bourdon
  Claudette Hudon
  Louis-Francois Garceau
Ontario: Roger McDevitt
  Mike Englehart
  Phil Grundie
  Maureen Smyth
  David Simpson
Prairie: Janet Lewis-Anderson
  Connie Chrichton
 Gary Heasman
Mountain: Blake Olsen
  Al Vodden
  Gordon Wheatley
  Ted Haupt

We also want to show appreciation to National Director Wayne Greenland who received all the applications, screened them and distributed them to the appropriate Regional Committee Members. Also to National Treasurer Bruce Peacock who ensured that each sponsor was a qualified contributing member of our association and issued the cheques to the successful applicants.

Respectfully submitted,
Reginald Hebert, Scholarship Committee Chair